GEAUX Calendar

Schedule is subject to change. Lunch is on your own unless otherwise stated. All Lockett events will be held in Room 244 except when otherwise stated. 

Monday August 9

  • 10:00 AM: Meet at Tiger Stadium
  • 10:30 AM: Introductions
  • 11:00 AM: Introduction to Graduate School
  • 12:00 PM: Lunch (provided)
  • 1:30 PM: Intro to Computer Accounts, etc. with Alex

Tuesday August 10

  • 10:00 AM: Topology Introduction (Megan)
  • 11:00 AM: Topology Problem Session
  • 6:00 PM: Pasta Night

Wednesday August 11

  • 9:00 AM:  Administrative Introduction with Charlotte
  • 10:00 AM: Teaching Panel
  • 11:00 AM: Topology Research Talk (Justin)
  • 11:30 AM: Travel, Keys, and Lighthouse Program with Jolie and Landon

Thursday August 12

  • 10:00 AM: Analysis Intro Talk (Christian)
  • 11:00 AM: Analysis Problem Session
  • 12:00 PM: Lunch
  • 1:00 PM-5:00 PM: Meetings with Dr. Shipman 
  • 6:00 PM: Scavenger Hunt

Friday August 13

  • 10:00 AM: Algebra Intro (Sam)
  • 11:00 AM: Algebra Problem Session
  • 12:00 PM: Lunch
  • 1:00 PM-5:00 PM: Meetings with Dr. Shipman 
  • 7:00 PM: Movie Night (Pizza provided)

Monday August 16

  • International Student Orientation (time TBA; see ISO website for info)
  • 1:00 PM - 4:00PM: Analysis Qualifying Exam (Room 232)

Tuesday August 17

  • 10:00 AM: Combinatorics Talk (Dylan)
  • 11:00 AM: Library Info Session
  • 12:00 PM: Lunch
  • 1:30 PM - 4:30 PM: R2R Training (LSU Library Math Lab)

Wednesday August 18

  • 10:00 AM: Surviving Grad School Panel
  • 11:00 AM: PDE Research Talk (Tristan)
  • 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM: New Graduate Student Orientation (Optional)
  • 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM: Topology Qualifying Exam (Room 232)

Thursday August 19

  • 10:00 AM: Material Science Research Talk (Ruchira) (Room 232)
  • 11:00 AM: Pictures for Department Website (Room 232)

Friday August 20

  • 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM: Algebra Qualifying Exam (Room 232)
  • 4:00 PM: Math Department BBQ (Highland Road Community Park)