OAL-RAG 2024 Baton Rouge

A conference on Order, Algebra, Logic, and Real Algebraic Geometry

8:50 AM Thursday, May 9 - Noon Saturday, May 11, 2024.

(Arrival May 8, departure May 11 or 12.)

205 Prescott Hall
Department of Mathematics
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803

We hope to broadcast the lectures on Zoom, for those who can't attend in person.
And we hope to be able to accommodate lectures presented from afar.


Send email to Charles N. Delzell delzell@math.lsu.edu.

Conference Hotel

The conference hotel is:

The Cook Hotel at LSU
3848 West Lakeshore Drive
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70808
1-225-383-COOK (2665)

Prior to April 8 we reserved a block of rooms at Cook (with check-in May 8 after 3:00 PM, and check-out May 11 by 11:00 AM). Most of those rooms were requested by and assigned to participants prior to April 8, when the hotel had to release any unassigned rooms to the general public. You may check current availability of rooms by contacting:

Tammy Brown
Director of Sales
The Cook Hotel
Office: 225-388-1003
Cell: 225-978-4143

Mention to her your interest in the math conference. Let her and the organizers know if you wish to arrive or depart on days other than the above.

If you wish to share a room at the Cook Hotel but you do not have a roommate in mind, please let the organizers know; we will keep a list and let you know who else might be seeking roommates.

Registration Fee

Registration fee: \$50.00. This will cover refreshments served during the conference and a catered dinner at the Delzells' house on Friday. The fee will be collected on the first day of the conference.


How to get to LSU: If you let us know several days in advance when your plane will land at the Baton Rouge airport (BTR), we'll try to pick you up. A taxi, if used, costs approximately \$25-\$30 from the Baton Rouge airport to the Cook Hotel. Uber costs \$20-\$30. If you're driving to Baton Rouge, check Google maps.

Schedule and Abstracts of Talks

Abstracts of talks are due on April 15, 2024. They will be published here shortly thereafter. Schedule of talks coming later.


Charles N. Delzell (delzell@math.lsu.edu; 225-439-3952 (cell)).
James J. Madden (madden@math.lsu.edu; 225-978-3525 (cell)).

Mailing address:
Department of Mathematics
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803

Expected participants so far:

  1. Mehsin Jabel Atteya (Mustansiriyah University, Iraq; will participate remotely).
  2. Rick Ball (University of Denver, Emeritus).
  3. Saugata Basu (Purdue University).
  4. Guram Bezhanishvili (New Mexico State University).
  5. Papiya Bhattacharjee (Florida Atlantic University).
  6. Ricardo Carrera (Nova Southeastern University, Florida; will participate remotely).
  7. Fred Dashiell (CECAT, Chapman University) .
  8. Charles N. Delzell (Louisiana State University).
  9. Ebrahim Ghashghaei (Shahid Chamran University of Ahvaz, Iran; will participate remotely).
  10. Anthony Hager (Wesleyan University, Emeritus; may participate, but only remotely).
  11. Oghenetega Ighedo (Chapman University; May 10-12).
  12. Chawne Kimber (Washington & Lee University; will participate remotely).
  13. Ramiro H. Lafuente-Rodriguez (University of South Dakota).
  14. Jingjing Ma (University of Houston-Clear Lake).
  15. James J. Madden (Louisiana State University).
  16. Warren McGovern (Florida Atlantic University, Wilkes Honors College).
  17. Ali Mohammad Nezhad (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill).
  18. Homeira Pajoohesh (Medgar Evers College (CUNY); will participate remotely).
  19. Ricardo Palomino Piepenborn (University of Manchester; will participate remotely).
  20. Tomás Recio (Universidad Antonio de Nebrija, Madrid, Spain; will participate remotely).
  21. Philip Scowcroft (Wesleyan University); May 8-12 .
  22. John Stokes-Waters (University of Manchester, United Kingdom; will participate remotely).
  23. Marcus Tressl (University of Manchester, United Kingdom).
  24. M. Pilar Velez (Universidad Antonio de Nebrija, Madrid, Spain; will participate remotely).
  25. Brian Wynne (Lehman College, City University of New York).

Last updated April 20, 2024.