Awards received by members of the department

Shea Vela-Vick receives 2024 LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award

Shea Vela-Vick Shea Vela-Vick, Associate Professor of Mathematics at Louisiana State University (LSU), received the 2024 LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award. This award recognizes faculty members who have made significant contributions in teaching, research, and service.

2024 Ogden Honors College Outstanding Teaching Award for Scott Baldridge

Scott Baldridge Scott Baldridge, the Loretta Cox Stuckey & Dr. James G. Traynham Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mathematics at LSU, was honored with the 2024 Ogden Honors College Outstanding Teaching Award. This award is given in recognition of faculty with an exceptional record in teaching and mentoring students within the Ogden Honors College.

2024 LSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award for Stephen Shipman

Stephen Shipman Stephen Shipman, Professor of Mathematics and Director of Graduate Studies in the Math Department, was honored with the 2024 LSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award. The award recognizes a faculty member for their exceptional teaching at the graduate level and their involvement in related academic activities.

LSU Math Alumnus Robert Osburn Wins 1 Million Euro IRC Advanced Laureate Research Award

Robert Osburn - LSU Ph.D. 2001 Robert Osburn, an alumnus of LSU with a Ph.D. obtained in 2001, currently an Associate Professor in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at University College Dublin, Ireland, has been honored with the Advanced Laureate Award from the Irish Research Council. His project, titled 'Q-series, Quantum Knot Invariants and Modularity,' is among sixteen projects selected for funding in various fields such as life sciences, humanities, physical sciences and engineering, and social sciences.

Robert Lipton Part of $7.2 Million MURI Grant Project.

Robert Lipton Robert Lipton, Nicholson Professor in the LSU Mathematics Department, is collaborating on a $7.2 million Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant awarded by the Army Research Office (ARO).

2023 Barton Superior Graduate Student Awards

2023 Barton Awards Jack Dalberg, Brian Grove, and Emma Lien have been honored with the 2023 Arthur K. Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarships, while Iswarya Sitiraju is the recipient of the 2023 A. K. and Shirley Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarship.

2023 Pasquale Porcelli Graduate Student Research Excellence Award for Iswarya Sitiraju

Iswarya Sitiraju Iswarya Sitiraju is the 2023 recipient of the Pasquale Porcelli Graduate Student Research Excellence Award. She is currently working on her doctoral dissertation under Professor Gestur Olafsson, with an expected graduation in Summer 2024. Her research focuses on homogeneous spaces, abstract harmonic analysis, and mathematical physics. She has already submitted an article to a top-tier journal in her field and is preparing another paper on deep learning with Professor Peter Wolenski.

LSU Department of Mathematics Awarded $2.5 Million NSF-RTG Grant

NSF RTG 2023 in Topology, Topology, Representation Theory, and Mathematical Physics A team from the LSU Department of Mathematics was recently awarded a $2.5 million NSF Research Training Group Grant to support initiatives for students and early-career mathematicians seeking to engage in cutting-edge research in the fields of topology, representation theory, and mathematical physics. The LSU team consists of lead PI Dr. Pramod Achar, along with four Co-PIs: Dr. Pallavi Dani, Dr. Gestur Olafsson, Dr. David Shea Vela-Vick, and Dr.