Awards received by members of the department

LSU Nicholson Professor of Mathematics Robert Lipton Named AMS Fellow

Robert Lipton LSU Nicholson Professor of Mathematics Robert Lipton was named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for the Class of 2020. The Fellows program of the AMS began in 2011 as a means to recognize those members “who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics” and it is among the duties of elected Fellows “to provide a “public face” of excellence in mathematics”.

2019 Curtis E. Huntington Memorial Scholarship for Math Major Sarah Davidson

Sarah Davidson Math major Sarah Davidson received a 2019 Curtis E. Huntington Memorial Scholarship from the Actuarial Foundation.

Susanne C. Brenner named AWM Fellow

Susanne Brenner Professor Susanne C. Brenner was named AWM Fellow by the Association for Women in Mathematics. The AWM recognized her "For being a role model nationally and internationally due to her widely-known work in finite element methods; for her promotion of women in mathematics via the Women in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing network, as mentor of PhDs, and as advisor of graduate and undergraduate students."

Blaise Bourdin named A.K. and Shirley Barton Professor of Mathematics

Blaise Bourdin Blaise Bourdin was named the A.K. and Shirley Barton Professor of Mathematics. Professor Bourdin joined the LSU Math Department in 2002. His research has been funded through six NSF research grants. He delivered plenary and keynote lectures at major international research conferences in France, Spain, Japan and the United States.

Pramod Achar named Shirley Blue Barton Professor of Mathematics

Pramod Achar Pramod Achar was named the Shirley Blue Barton Professor of Mathematics. Professor Achar joined the LSU Math Department in 2004. Previously, he was awarded the LSU Rainmaker Award (2009), the LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award (2016), the Carruth McGehee Award for Excellent Research in Mathematics by a Junior Faculty Member (2016), and the LSU College of Science Graduate Teaching Award (2017).

Tiger Athletic Foundation President’s Award for Julia Ledet

Julia Ledet Julia Ledet is a recipient of the 2019 Tiger Athletic Foundation President's Award. The Tiger Athletic Foundation President’s Award recognizes a faculty member for extraordinary classroom teaching as demonstrated by an impact on and an involvement with students, a scholarly approach to teaching and learning, and contributions to the profession of teaching. 

Robert Lipton part of Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI)

Robert Lipton Robert Lipton, Nicholson Professor in the LSU Mathematics Department, is collaborating in a team with researchers from the Department of Mechanical and Civil Engineering at California Institute of Technology, the Department of Physics at the University of Chicago, the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Northwestern University, and the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, to increase understanding of continuum mechanics of gran

LSU Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award for Joseph Grenier

Joseph Grenier Joseph Grenier is the recipient of the 2019 Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award.

This award recognizes outstanding teaching ability and service to students.

2019 Alexanderson Award for Richard Ng

Professor Richard Ng

Professors Richard Ng, Paul Bruillard (Senior Machine Learning Researcher, Expedia Group), Zhenghan Wang (Microsoft Station Q, UC Santa Barbara) and Eric Rowell (Texas A&M) were awarded the 2019 Gerald L. Alexanderson Award of the American Institute of Mathematics. The Alexanderson Award is given annually by the American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) for an outstanding paper published in the previous three years that arose from an AIM workshop or SQuaRE.

AMS Simons Travel Grant for Riley Casper

Riley Casper 

W. Riley Casper, LSU Math Postdoc, is one of 73 recipients nationwide of a 2018 AMS Simons Travel Grant. The grant provides travel support over a two-year period. Riley Casper received his Ph.D. in 2017 from the University of Washington. His research interests lie in noncommutative algebra, algebraic geometry, integrable systems, orthogonal polynomials, spectral theory, and geophysical fluid dynamics.