Retired Professors

Listed here are retirees as well as former tenured professors.

Photo of William Adkins

William Adkins
Professor, Ph.D. University of Oregon
Research interest: Algebraic geometry, linear algebra over commutative rings
Office: 350 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1601
Email: adkins@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of William Adkins

Photo of Yaniv Almog

Yaniv Almog
Professor, Ph.D. Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Research interest: Ginzburg-Landau theory of superconductivity, fluid Mechanics
Email: almog@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Yaniv Almog

Photo of Blaise Bourdin

Blaise Bourdin
A.K. and Shirley Barton Professor of Mathematics, Ph.D. University of Paris XIII (France)
Research interest: Mathematics of materials science, computational mechanics, optimal design, scientific computing
Email: bourdin@lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Blaise Bourdin

Photo of W. George Cochran

W. George Cochran
Associate Professor, Ph.D. University of Michigan
Research interest: Probability
Office: 308 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1614
Email: cochran@math.lsu.edu

Photo of Jacek M. Cygan

Jacek M. Cygan
Associate Professor, Ph.D. Polish Academy of Sciences
Research interest: Harmonic analysis
Email: cygan@math.lsu.edu

Photo of Mark Davidson

Mark Davidson
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. University of California, Irvine
Research interest: Representations of Lie groups
Email: davidson@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Mark Davidson

Photo of Ray Fabec

Ray Fabec
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. University of Colorado
Research interest: Group representation theory
Email: fabec@math.lsu.edu

Photo of Guillermo Ferreyra

Guillermo Ferreyra
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Rutgers University
Research interest: Control theory
Office: 333 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1609
Email: ferreyra@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Guillermo Ferreyra

Photo of Pat Gilmer

Pat Gilmer
A.K. and Shirley Barton Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Research interest: Knot theory, low dimensional manifolds
Office: 376 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1574
Email: gilmer@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Pat Gilmer

Photo of Hui-Hsiung Kuo

Hui-Hsiung Kuo
Nicholson Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Cornell University
Research interest: Probability, stochastic analysis
Office: 318 Lockett Hall
Office hours: MTuWThF 1:30pm–2:30pm
Telephone: +1 225 578 1610
Email: kuo@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Hui-Hsiung Kuo

Photo of Jimmie Lawson

Jimmie Lawson
Boyd Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. University of Tennessee
Research interest: Operator and matrix means, topological algebra and domain theory, control theory
Office: 216 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1672
Email: lawson@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Jimmie Lawson

Photo of Robert F. Lax

Robert F. Lax
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Research interest: Algebraic geometry, algebraic coding theory, applications of discrete math to computer science
Office: 359 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1651
Email: lax@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Robert F. Lax

Photo of Amha Lisan

Amha Lisan
Associate Professor, Ph.D. Howard University
Research interest: Topological algebra
Email: lisan@math.lsu.edu

Photo of Richard A. Litherland

Richard A. Litherland
Professor, Ph.D. Cambridge University (England)
Research interest: Algebraic topology, knot theory
Office: 378 Lockett Hall
Office hours: MTuWThF 1:30pm–2:30pm
Telephone: +1 225 578 1573
Email: lither@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Richard A. Litherland

Photo of Karl Mahlburg

Karl Mahlburg
Associate Professor, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
Research interest: Number theory, combinatorics
Email: mahlburg@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Karl Mahlburg

Photo of O. Carruth McGehee

O. Carruth McGehee
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Yale University
Research interest: Commutative harmonic analysis, complex analysis
Office: 359 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1651
Email: mcgehee@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of O. Carruth McGehee

Photo of Jorge Morales

Jorge Morales
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. University of Geneva (Switzerland)
Research interest: Algebraic number theory , algebraic groups, galois cohomology
Email: morales@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Jorge Morales

Photo of Augusto Nobile

Augusto Nobile
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Research interest: Algebraic geometry
Office: 325 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1604
Email: nobile@math.lsu.edu

Photo of Robert Perlis

Robert Perlis
Cecil Taylor Alumni Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Research interest: Algebraic number theory
Office: 337 Lockett Hall
Office hours: M 10:00am–11:00pm
Telephone: +1 225 578 1673
Email: perlis@math.lsu.edu

Photo of Ambar Sengupta

Ambar Sengupta
Hubert Butts Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Cornell University
Research interest: Probability, mathematical physics
Email: ambar.sengupta@uconn.edu
Personal Home Page of Ambar Sengupta

Photo of Neal W. Stoltzfus

Neal W. Stoltzfus
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. Princeton University
Research interest: Knots, Links & Algebraic Invariants, low Dimensional Topology, braids & Mapping Class Group
Office: 339 Lockett Hall
Telephone: +1 225 578 1656
Email: stoltz@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Neal W. Stoltzfus

Photo of Dirk Vertigan

Dirk Vertigan
Professor, Ph.D. University of Oxford (England)
Research interest: Combinatorial algebra, algebraic combinatorics
Email: vertigan@math.lsu.edu

Photo of Milen Yakimov

Milen Yakimov
AMS Fellow, Sloan Research Fellow
Michael F. and Roberta Nesbit McDonald Professor, Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Research interest: Noncommutative algebra, relations to geometry and combinatorics
Email: yakimov@math.lsu.edu
Personal Home Page of Milen Yakimov