Front Page News

Shea Vela-Vick receives 2024 LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award

Shea Vela-Vick Shea Vela-Vick, Associate Professor of Mathematics at Louisiana State University (LSU), received the 2024 LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award. This award recognizes faculty members who have made significant contributions in teaching, research, and service.

2024 Ogden Honors College Outstanding Teaching Award for Scott Baldridge

Scott Baldridge Scott Baldridge, the Loretta Cox Stuckey & Dr. James G. Traynham Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mathematics at LSU, was honored with the 2024 Ogden Honors College Outstanding Teaching Award. This award is given in recognition of faculty with an exceptional record in teaching and mentoring students within the Ogden Honors College.

2024 LSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award for Stephen Shipman

Stephen Shipman Stephen Shipman, Professor of Mathematics and Director of Graduate Studies in the Math Department, was honored with the 2024 LSU Foundation Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award. The award recognizes a faculty member for their exceptional teaching at the graduate level and their involvement in related academic activities.

Ling Long appointed to Editorial Board of the International Journal of Number Theory

Ling Long Ling Long, Michael F. and Roberta Nesbit McDonald Professor of Mathematics, has been appointed to the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Number Theory, which has been influential for 20 years. Professor Long joined the LSU Math Department in 2013.

LSU Math Alumnus Robert Osburn Wins 1 Million Euro IRC Advanced Laureate Research Award

Robert Osburn - LSU Ph.D. 2001 Robert Osburn, an alumnus of LSU with a Ph.D. obtained in 2001, currently an Associate Professor in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at University College Dublin, Ireland, has been honored with the Advanced Laureate Award from the Irish Research Council. His project, titled 'Q-series, Quantum Knot Invariants and Modularity,' is among sixteen projects selected for funding in various fields such as life sciences, humanities, physical sciences and engineering, and social sciences.

Robert Lipton Part of $7.2 Million MURI Grant Project.

Robert Lipton Robert Lipton, Nicholson Professor in the LSU Mathematics Department, is collaborating on a $7.2 million Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant awarded by the Army Research Office (ARO).

2024 Porcelli Lecture Series: R. Tyrrell Rockafellar

R. Tyrrell Rockafellar Porcelli Lecture Series  The 2023 guest lecturer for the LSU Mathematics Porcelli Lecture Series is R. Tyrrell Rockafellar, Professor Emeritus at the University of Washington. The inaugural Porcelli Lecture took place in 1980.

2023 Barton Superior Graduate Student Awards

2023 Barton Awards Jack Dalberg, Brian Grove, and Emma Lien have been honored with the 2023 Arthur K. Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarships, while Iswarya Sitiraju is the recipient of the 2023 A. K. and Shirley Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarship.