Front Page News

NSF Research Grant for Andrei Tarfulea

Andrei Tarfulea LSU Assistant Professor of Mathematics Dr. Andrei Tarfulea recently received a grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to investigate diffusive regularization in kinetic and fluid equations. Tarfulea explains that the research involved is “part of the broader mathematical program of understanding turbulence. If turbulence, or the general chaotic motion of many particles, can be made more predictable, it can also be made more controllable”.

ALEKS Helpline and LSU Virtual Math Ready Program

Aurora Wallace This year, a Virtual ALEKS Helpline will assist students with working through the Assessment and Learning in Knowledge Spaces (ALEKS) Placement, Preparation, and Learning (PPL) program. The Helpline is a partnership of the LSU Department of Mathematics with the LSU Gordon A. Cain Center for STEM Literacy (Cain  Center) and the Center for Academic Success (CAS) and received Student Tech Fee support. 

2021 Goldwater Scholarship for Rohin Gilman

Rohin Gilman LSU Math Major Rohin Gilman has been selected as a 2021 Barry Goldwater Scholar. The scholarship is the most prestigious undergraduate scholarship given in the natural sciences, engineering, and mathematics. This year it was awarded to 410 college students from across the United States, including 51 mathematics and computer science majors. At LSU, Rohin Gilman is mentored by Frank Neubrander.

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship for Amy Adair

Amy Adair Amy Adair, B.S. 2018, LSU Math with a Concentration in Secondary Education, was offered an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship in STEM Education and Learning Research - Artificial Intelligence. Amy Adair is currently a Ph.D. student in the Graduate School of Education at Rutgers University. At LSU she was mentored by Frank Neubrander. 

2021 George H. Deer Distinguished Teaching Award for Selena Oswalt

Selena Oswalt Selena Oswalt is a recipient of the 2021 George H. Deer Distinguished Teaching Award. This award is made in the memory of George H. Deer, Ph.D., former Dean of University College (1959-1966). The award recognizes outstanding teaching ability and service to students.

2021 Distinguished Research Master Award for Robert Lipton

Robert Lipton LSU Mathematics Nicholson Professor Robert Lipton receives the 2021 Distinguished Research Master (DRM) award for outstanding career accomplishments in research and scholarship. Granted by the LSU Council on Research, the annual DRM award recognizes one LSU faculty member in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics who has achieved vital impact on the scholarly community in their field.

SIAM News Blog spotlights Susanne C. Brenner

Susanne Brenner In honor of Women's History Month, the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) spotlighted Professor Susanne C. Brenner in their News Blog.

LSU Boyd Professor Susanne Brenner is currently president of the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). She is a SIAM Fellow (Class of 2010), AMS Fellow (Inaugural Class 2013), AAAS Fellow (2012), and AWM Fellow (2020).

Ron Retherford (1937-2021)

Ron Retherford Ron Retherford, who was chair of the LSU Math department from 1992 until 2000, passed away on January 20, 2021.