Front Page News

Blaise Bourdin to Deliver Plenary Lecture at CFRAC 2017

Professor Blaise Bourdin will be one of the plenary speakers at the fifth international Conference on Computational Modeling of Fractures and Failures of Materials and Structures (CFRAC 2017), June 14-16, 2017.

2016 Simons Foundation Collaboration Grants for Pallavi Dani and Phuc Nguyen

Professors Yaniv Almog, Pallavi Dani and Phuc Nguyen are among the recipients of the 2016 Simons Foundation Collaboration Grants for Mathematicians.
Each collaboration grant provides $7,000 per year for five years. The grants will commentce September 1, 2016, and end August 31, 2021.

Mhel Lazo, B.S. Math 2012, featured in LSU’s social media campaign

Mhel Lazo, who received his B.S. in Math in 2012 with a concentration in Actuarial Science, is featured in LSU’s social media campaign highlighting alums under 30 years old. In 2010 he participated in the LSU Math SMILE program. Currently, he works for The Walt Disney Company.

Army grant for Robert Lipton

Professor Robert Lipton was awarded a grant by the Army Research Office (ARO) for work on Mathematical and Multi-Scale Foundations of Nonlocal Modeling. 

The ARO provides funding of a total of $500,000 for three years through its Solid Mechanics Program. The goal of the research is to create the theoreticaland computational foundations necessary for nonlocal mechanical models to provide reliable and predictive simulations of dynamic fracture. Dynamic fracture is a complex problem involving multiple interacting cracksRobert Lipton's research will be supported by a postdoctoral associate who is funded through the grant.

Robert Lipton joined the LSU math department in 2001 from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute where
he was professor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences. 
Currently, he is the S.B Barton Professor of Mathematics.

Robert Lipton
(Photo: Bogdan Oporowski)

Porcelli Lectures by Maria Chudnovsky Online

The Porcelli lectures by Maria Chudnovsky, Professor of Mathematics at Princeton University, are available online on the YouTube channel of the LSU math department. The videos were prepared by Bogdan Oporowski, with the assistance of Joshua Fallon.

Maria Chudnovsky
(Photo: Bogdan Oporowski)

MATRIX workshop at the University of Melbourne

The MATRIX workshop on Hypergeometric Motives and Calabi Yau Differential Equations will take place January 8-28, 2017 at the University of Melbourne. The workshop is organized by Professors Ling Long (LSU), Masha Vlasenko (Polish Academy of Sciences) and Wadim Zudilin (University of Newcastle). 

Postdoctoral positions for new LSU PhD's

A number of 2016 LSU math PhD's have accepted postdoctoral positions:

Susan Murphy (B.S. in mathematics; LSU) elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Susan Murphy, H.E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor of Statistics and Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Michigan, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. She received her B.S. in mathematics in 1980 from LSU.

Susan Murphy Porcelli Lecture 2014

Math Majors heading to a PhD program

This year, the list of graduating Math Majors that head to a PhD program in the fall includes:

  • Jared Able will be at Michigan State University pursuing a PhD in Mathematics.
  • Jesse Clifton is heading to NC State for a PhD in Statistics.
  • Amanda Mayhall is also going to NC State for a PhD in Applied Mathematics.
  • Colleen Robichaux decided on the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, for a PhD in Mathematics.
  • Shawn Williams will be at Rice University pursuing a PhD in Mathematics.
  • Dustin Wright is heading to Texas A&M for a PhD in Mathematics.

Math Department Award Ceremony Spring 2016: Math Majors heading to Graduate School
Dustin Wright, Amanda Mayhall, Colleen Robichaux