LSU College of Science

Front Page News

SCALA 2016 in February at LSU

The conference Scientific Computing Around Louisiana 2016  (SCALA 2016) will be held at the LSU Digital Media Center on February 12-13, 2016.

Michler Memorial Prize for Pallavi Dani

Professor Pallavi Dani is the recipient of the 2016-2017 Michler Memorial Prize of the Association of Women in Mathematics (AWM). The Michler Prize is awarded annually to a woman recently promoted to Associate Professor in the mathematical sciences. The prize provides  a $47,000 fellowship for the awardee to spend a semester in the Mathematics Department of Cornell University without teaching obligations.

NSF Career Grant for Shawn Walker

Professor Shawn Walker has been awarded a prestigious NSF CAREER grant Numerical Methods for Liquid Crystals and Their Optimal Design. The grant will fund his research and his outreach activities from August 2016 through July 2021.

Shawn Walker

Workshop on Lie Theory hosted by LSU

The workshop Lie Groups, Lie Algebras and their Representations will take place November 7-8, 2015 at LSU. Local organizers are Profs. Pramod Achar, Gestur Olafsson, Dan Sage and Milen Yakimov.

New GAANN Grant for Doctoral Fellowships

The Department of Mathematics has been awarded a new three year GAANN (Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need) from the US Department of Education commencing Fall 2015. Mathematics has been designated by congress as an area of national need. This grant tries to address this area of national need by providing for doctoral fellowships to support excellent US citizen and Permanent Resident graduate students in mathematics at LSU.

AMS MRC conference at Snowbird on Lie Group Representations

Bradley Currey (Saint Louis University), Gestur Olafsson (LSU) and Gail Ratcliff (East Carolina University) are organizing an AMS Mathematics Research Communities Summer Conference on Lie group representations, discretization, and Gelfand pairs. The conference will take place June 5-11, 2016 at Snowbird Resort, Utah.

LSU Honors College News features Math Major Bruno Beltran

The LSU Honors College News featured Math Major Bruno Beltran who graduated this May. He is the recipient of a 2013 Goldwater Fellowship, and a 2015 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship that will be supporting his PhD graduate studies in Systems Biology at Stanford University. His Honors Thesis under Professor Frank Neubrander was on Matrix Exponentiation without Scaling and Squaring.