LSU College of Science

Front Page News

First Math Saturday: Girls in Mathematics

Masters of the Mathematics Common Core: Girls in Mathematics
Pallavi Dani talks about knots at the first Math Saturday

LSU Math majors enter top PhD programs

2015 Star Graduating Seniors
From left to right: Bruno Beltran (Stanford), Jason Mueller (Bristol), Rachael Keller (Columbia), Paxton Turner (MIT), and Avery St. Dizier (Cornell).

2015 LSU Math graduating seniors will be entering some of the top PhD and Masters programs:

PhD Programs:

Math Faculty and Students honored at the 2015 LSU College of Science Convocation

At the 2015 LSU College of Science Convocation the following Math Faculty and Students were honored:

Gestur Olafsson and Stephen Shipman: TAF Undergraduate Teaching Award
Ambar Sengupta: Graduate Teaching Award

Special Issue of Annals of Combinatorics in honor of James Oxley

The recent issue of Annals of Combinatorics has been dedicated to Boyd Professor James Oxley, on the occasion of his sixtieth birthday. The focus of this special issue is matroid theory, a subject to which James contributed most of his over 140 research papers, and on which he wrote the authoritative monograph.

LSU math students perform well on Putnam Competition

LSU students performed well on the annual Putnam Mathematics Competition, which is a prestigious and very challenging six-hour Exam held each December. Over 4000 students from 500+ institutions competed, and more than half of them scored less than 3 points out of a possible 120. LSU had 8 students who earned a positive score, led by Avery St.

Math Major Bruno Beltran awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowship in Systems and Molecular Biology

LSU Math Major Bruno Beltran was awarded a NSF Graduate Research Fellowship in Systems and Molecular Biology. He spends this semester at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at Yale University.

Math Major Rachael Keller awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

LSU Math Major Rachael Keller was awarded a NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. She will be starting her PhD studies in the Fall at Columbia University's Applied Math Program.

Rachael Keller is in the process of completing her Honors Thesis under Prof. Dasbach. Recently, she was featured in the news of the LSU Honors College.

MAA Gung and Hu Award for Distinguished Service for W. James Lewis (LSU PhD 1971)

W. James Lewis was honored with the 2015 Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics of the MAA. He received his PhD in Mathematics at LSU in 1971 under Jack Ohm.

Previous recipients of the award include former LSU professor Richard Anderson.