Front Page News

LSU Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award for Joseph Grenier

Joseph Grenier Joseph Grenier is the recipient of the 2019 Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award.

This award recognizes outstanding teaching ability and service to students.

Conference in Honor of Jimmie Lawson

Jimmie Lawson An international conference on Ordered Structures in Geometry and Analysis will be held on the campus of Louisiana State University from Friday April 5, 2019 to April 7, 2019. The conference will be dedicated to Boyd Professor emeritus Jimmie D. Lawson celebrating his 50 years as a researcher, educator, and administrator at LSU. For more information visit

2019 Alexanderson Award for Richard Ng

Professor Richard Ng

Professors Richard Ng, Paul Bruillard (Senior Machine Learning Researcher, Expedia Group), Zhenghan Wang (Microsoft Station Q, UC Santa Barbara) and Eric Rowell (Texas A&M) were awarded the 2019 Gerald L. Alexanderson Award of the American Institute of Mathematics. The Alexanderson Award is given annually by the American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) for an outstanding paper published in the previous three years that arose from an AIM workshop or SQuaRE.

LSU Math Calculus Study Featured in MAA Blog

Calculus Study David Bressoud's blog for the MAA featured the study of Gestur Olafsson and Larry Smolinsky on hand-graded vs. online graded homework in Calculus II (Math 1552).

Myron Minn-Thu-Aye (Ph.D. 2013) featured in UConn Magazine

Myron Minn-Thu-Aye Myron Minn-Thu-Aye (Ph.D. 2013; Advisor: Professor Pramod Achar) is featured in the current issue of UConn Magazine of the University of Connecticut:

Robert Lipton appointed to Editor-in-Chief of SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis

Robert Lipton Nicholson Professor Robert Lipton was appointed to Editor-in-Chief of SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis. The journal was first published in 1970.

Susanne C. Brenner's plenary lecture at AWM Research Symposium

Susanne Brenner Professor Susanne C. Brenner will be delivering a plenary lecture at the AWM Research Symposium at Rice University, Houston.

The conference is scheduled from April 6-7, 2019, and will showcase research from women across the mathematical sciences working in academia, government and industry, as well as feature women across the career spectrum: undergraduates, graduate students, postdocs, and professionals.

Richard V. Kadison (1925-2018)

Richard V. Kadison Richard (Dick) Kadison passed away on August 22, 2018. He was the Pasquale Porcelli Lecture Series speaker in 2007 and a visiting professor at LSU during the spring semester 2008. Dick Kadison was a leader in the theory of operator algebras. He became a member of the National Academy of Science in 1996, and he was a fellow of the AAAS and AMS. In 1999 he was awarded the Leroy P. Steel Prize for Lifetime Achievement.

AMS Simons Travel Grant for Riley Casper

Riley Casper 

W. Riley Casper, LSU Math Postdoc, is one of 73 recipients nationwide of a 2018 AMS Simons Travel Grant. The grant provides travel support over a two-year period. Riley Casper received his Ph.D. in 2017 from the University of Washington. His research interests lie in noncommutative algebra, algebraic geometry, integrable systems, orthogonal polynomials, spectral theory, and geophysical fluid dynamics.

Math Department hosts SIAM Meeting

The math department will host the SIAM TX-LA Sectional Meeting and LSU-UH-TAMU Undergraduate Conference, October 5–7, 2018