Front Page News

NSF CAREER Grant for Rui Han

Rui Han LSU Department of Mathematics Assistant Professor Rui Han has received a National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) grant from the NSF Analysis Program for his research in Schrödinger operators on lattices. This award will provide funding for Dr. Han’s research over five years for nearing half a million dollars and provides support for a Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) program each summer for three years of the project as well as support for Ph.D. students and postdoctoral researcher.

2021 LSU Distinguished Communicator Medal for Clinten Graham

Clinten Graham and Peter Wolenski Math Major Clinten Graham is among the thirteen LSU graduates who will receive the LSU Distinguished Communicator Medal during the December 2021 LSU Commencement. Recipients of this honor are outstanding writers and speakers, with a strong command of visual literacy and technological communication.

2021 David Oxley Graduate Student Teaching Award

James Dylan Douthitt James Dylan Douthitt received the Fall 2021 LSU David Oxley Graduate Student Teaching Award. The award is named in memory of David Grieve Oxley, the son of James and Judith Oxley. The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in teaching by graduate students. It is given each semester. In the Fall, those eligible are senior graduate students, those who have been in the Mathematics graduate program for more than two years.

P. Sundar and Christian Ennis to Collaborate with Barbara Rüdiger at Wuppertal University.

P. Sundar and Christian Ennis LSU Department of Mathematics Professor P. Sundar and graduate student Christian Ennis are working on a collaborative research project with graduate students and postdoctoral researchers from the Bergische Universität Wuppertal in Wuppertal, Germany starting from the Spring of 2022 with research visits arranged at LSU and Wuppertal University.

2021 Porcelli Awards

Sudipta Ghosh receives the 2021 Pasquale Porcelli Graduate Student Research Excellence Award.

Jiuyi Zhu Appointed to Editorial Board of Advanced Nonlinear Studies

Jiuyi Zhu Jiuyi Zhu, LSU Assistant Professor of Mathematics, was appointed to the editorial board of the journal Advanced Nonlinear Studies, published by DeGruyter.

He joined the LSU Department of Mathematics in 2016, coming from Johns Hopkins University, where he was a J.J. Sylvester Assistant Professor.

2021 Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarships

2021 Barton Scholarships

Prerna Agarwal, Pujan Shrestha and Jagdeep Singh are awarded the 2021 Arthur K. Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarships, and Sudip Sinha is the recipient of the 2021 A. K. and Shirley Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarship.

LSU Math Professor Publishes First-Of-Its-Kind Book

Pramod Achar LSU Shirley Blue Barton Professor of Mathematics Dr. Pramod Achar recently published a book titled Perverse Sheaves and Applications to Representation Theory, which aims to guide new researchers in the field of representation theory and its links to topology/geometry.