Front Page News

LSU Scores at Virginia Tech Regional Math Contest

LSU students performed very well on the 41st. Annual Virginia Tech Regional Math Contest (VTRMC). This annual competition consists of a challenging two and half hour written exam, and there were 758 participants from 98 colleges and universities from 29 states. Out of a maximum possible score of 70 points, the national median was 1 point.,

Susanne C. Brenner elected SIAM President

Susanne Brenner

LSU Boyd Professor of Mathematics Susanne C. Brenner has been named President-Elect of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) for 2020. Dr. Brenner previously served on the SIAM Fellows Selection Committee from 2014-2016 (and as Chair from 2015-2016), and presently serves on the editorial board of SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis, and was named Editor-In-Chief of SIAM Classics in Applied Mathematics in 2018.

Research of Blaise Bourdin featured in SIAM News

Fractures Blaise Bourdin and Gilles Francfort (Department of Mathematics, Université Paris 13) were invited to contribute an article on their research on Past and Present of Variational Fracture to the November 2019 issue of SIAM News.

LSU Nicholson Professor of Mathematics Robert Lipton Named AMS Fellow

Robert Lipton LSU Nicholson Professor of Mathematics Robert Lipton was named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for the Class of 2020. The Fellows program of the AMS began in 2011 as a means to recognize those members “who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics” and it is among the duties of elected Fellows “to provide a “public face” of excellence in mathematics”.

2019 Curtis E. Huntington Memorial Scholarship for Math Major Sarah Davidson

Sarah Davidson Math major Sarah Davidson received a 2019 Curtis E. Huntington Memorial Scholarship from the Actuarial Foundation.

Susanne C. Brenner named AWM Fellow

Susanne Brenner Professor Susanne C. Brenner was named AWM Fellow by the Association for Women in Mathematics. The AWM recognized her "For being a role model nationally and internationally due to her widely-known work in finite element methods; for her promotion of women in mathematics via the Women in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing network, as mentor of Ph.D.s, and as advisor of graduate and undergraduate students."

Third Annual TX-LA Undergraduate Mathematics Conference at Texas A&M

The Third Annual TX-LA Undergraduate Mathematics Conference will take place at Texas A&M, College Station, from October 19-20, 2019. The previous two conferences were hosted by the University of Houston, and by LSU. Stephen Shipman is a Co-Organizer at Large of the undergraduate conference series.