LSU Students Win Louisiana-Mississippi MAA Team Competition

2011 MAA LSU Team
From left: Professor George Cochran (faculty advisor), Philip Benge, Hannah Manuel, and Guillaume Dupré.
Three LSU math majors, Philip Benge, Guillaume Dupré, and Hannah Manuel, won the first-place prize in the Student Team Mathematics Competition on February 25. The competition is a regional mathematics contest for college students in Louisiana and Mississippi, sponsored by the Louisiana-Mississippi section of the Mathematical Association of America. The LSU team dominated the competition, scoring 131 of 150 points possible. The second-place team only scored 109 points. Congratulations to Philip, Guillaume, and Hannah!