Conference on Ordered Algebraic Structures, May 1-3, 2014

Conference on Ordered Algebraic Structures

May 1-3, 2014

Department of Mathematics
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803

Download PDF of abstracts

Conference Participants


Thursday May 1 Louisiana Emerging Technology Center
9:30-10:10 Richard Ball The Pointfree Representation of Truncated Archimedean Lattice Ordered Groups
10:30-11:00 Karim Boulabiar Extreme contractive operators on Stone f-algebras
11:15-11:35 Charles Holland Very Generalized Commutativity of Lattice-Ordered Groups
  Lunch Provided for participants by conference
1:30-2:10 Anthony Hager Some Unusual Epicomplete Archimedean Lattice-Ordered Groups
2:30-3:10 Philip Scowcroft Existential Closures of Abelian Lattice-Ordered Groups
3:30-4:00 Brian Wynne Upper Products of Existentially Closed Abelian l-Groups (Redux)
Friday May 2 Louisiana Emerging Technology Center
9:00-9:20 Themba Dube Another View of OZ
9:30-9:50 Oghenetega Ighedo On the Projectability Properties of Frames of z-Ideals and d-Ideals of R L
10:00-10:20 Inderasan Naidoo On Almost* Realcompact Frames
10:30-11:30 ---- Group Discussion on Frames (moderated by T. Dube and J. Madden)
   Lunch Provided for participants by conference
 1:30-2:00 Gerard Buskes Polynomials on Vector Lattices and Banach Lattices
 2:15-2:45 Piotr Wojciechowski Multiplicative decomposition property for matrix algebras and its consequences
 3:00-3:30 Taewon Yang f-Rings Z L
 3:45-4:15 Jingjing Ma Positive Derivation on Lattice-Ordered Rings---Old and New Results
Saturday May 3 205 Prescott Hall
9:00-9:30 James Madden Neighbors in Subsets of Z^n
9:45-10:15 Trevor McGuire Combinatorial Minimal Free Resolutions
10:30-11:00 Ben Dribus Path Algebras in Quantum Causal Theory
11:15-11:45 Charles Delzell A New, Simpler, Finitary Construction of the Real Closure of a Computable Ordered Field

Venue: Thursday and Friday lectures will be held in the Louisiana Emerging Technology Center. This is the same venue as that of the 2007 meeting that honored Mel Henriksen. Saturday lectures will be held in Lockett Hall (room TBA).

Hotel: Participants will stay in the Lod Cook Hotel, 3848 West Lakeshore Drive, on the LSU Campus; telephone 866-610-2665; directions: click here. Graduate students should contact James Madden (225-978-3525) rather than calling the hotel, as the conference will pay for student lodging. If you wish to share a room at Lod Cook but you do not have a room mate in mind, please let James Madden know; he will keep a list and let you know who might be seeking room mates.

Registration fee: $75.00, but waived for students. This will cover incidental expenses such as refreshments. The fee will be collected on the first day of the conference.

How to get to LSU: If you let us know several days in advance when your plane will land at the Baton Rouge airport (BTR), we'll try to pick you up; otherwise, you'll have to take a taxi from the airport to the Lod Cook Hotel (approximately $25). If you're driving to Baton Rouge, check Google maps: click here.

Baton Rouge weather: Click here.

Charles N. Delzell (; 225-439-3952 (cell))
James J. Madden (; 225-978-3525 (cell))


  1. Michael Baker (University of Houston-Clear Lake)
  2. Rick Ball (University of Denver)
  3. Karim Boulabiar (Tunis-El Manar University, Tunisia)
  4. Gerard Buskes (University of Mississippi)
  5. Charles N. Delzell (Louisiana State University)
  6. Ben Dribus (Louisiana State University)
  7. Themba Dube (University of South Africa (Unisa))
  8. Anthony Hager (Wesleyan University)
  9. Charles Holland (University of Colorado Boulder)
  10. Tega Ighedo (University of South Africa (Unisa))
  11. Jingjing Ma (University of Houston-Clear Lake)
  12. James J. Madden (Louisiana State University)
  13. Murray Marshall (University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada)
  14. Warren McGovern (Florida Atlantic University)
  15. Trevor McGuire (Louisiana State University)
  16. Inderasan Naidoo (University of South Africa (Unisa))
  17. Adelaide Pangemanan (University of Houston-Clear Lake)
  18. Stephan Roberts (University of Mississippi)
  19. C. M. Schwanke (University of Mississippi)
  20. Philip Scowcroft (Wesleyan University)
  21. Piotr Wojciechowski U. Texas El Paso)
  22. Brian Wynne (Bard College at Simon's Rock, MA)
  23. Taewon Yang (Florida Atlantic University)

Tega Ighedo, Adelaide Pangemanan, Themba Dube, Michael Baker, James Madden, Jingjing Ma, Inderasan Naidoo

Last updated May 14, 2014

Abstracts.pdf180.13 KB
ORD 14 PURPLE CYPRESS HEAD w names.jpg826.9 KB
2014-05-03 12.03.47.jpg4.17 MB
DSC_9148.JPG7.37 MB