Front Page News

Susanne Brenner Receives Humboldt Research Award

Susanne Brenner received a prestigious Humboldt Research Award in recognition of lifetime achievement. The story (732KB PDF) appears on page 1007 of the September issue of the Notices of the American Mathematical Society.

Department Launches GEAUX Program

The current graduate students are launching a new program for incoming grads: GEAUXstands for Graduate Education & Acclimation the University eXperience! All are invited to attend. Program highlights include:

Delong Meng among winners of USA Math Olympiad

Delong Meng, a 10th-grader at Baton Rouge Magnet High School, the winner of the Open Session in High School Math Contest organized by the department this year, was one of the 12 highest scorers in the Thirty-Sixth Annual USA Mathematical Olympiad. The gala award ceremony took place at the U.S. State Department, and his achievement was also noted (PDF) in the August 2007 Notices of the AMS.

LSU Math Student Received Goldwater Scholarship

Senior mathematics major Nickolas VanMeter received Goldwater Scholarship.

Spring 2007 Awards

LSU Awards

LSU Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award
Julius Esunge
TIAA-CREF Service Learning Fellow Award
Robert Perlis
Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award
Dottie Vaughn

Departmental Awards

Pasquale Porcelli Award for Graduate Academic Excellence
Anna Zemlyanova
Betti and Robert Giles Senior Math Award
Daniel Whitman
Pasquale Porcelli Senior Undergraduate Scholarship
Brittan Farmer
Pasquale Porcelli Junior Undergraduate Scholarship
Rodrigo Farnham
David Oxley Memorial Graduate Student Teaching Award
Tanya Lueder
Certificate of Teaching Excellence
Jens Christensen
Fareed Hawwa
Piotr Maciak
Lisa Warshauer
Departmental Service Award
Jimmie Lawson

LSU Leader in Math Education

The New Math: LSU becomes National Leader in Math Education

Redesign Workshop, April 12, 2007

The LSU Department of Mathematics has spent more than three years developing a new approach to teaching college algebra and has since become a national leader in the field of using technology to redesign the delivery of large-enrollment college mathematics courses. This new approach uses a combination of small classroom instruction and a learning lab environment.

LSU team 21st in Putnam Competition

Congratulations to our Putnam team (Jude Melancon, Nickolas VanMeter and Daniel Whitman), and thanks to the Putnam coach (Professor Jacek Cygan), and to Suat Namli (who gave seminars on problem solving prior to the Putnam Exam). This year the LSU team finished 21st! There were 402 colleges and universities that entered teams. A total of 3640 students from 508 colleges and universities participated in the competition. Daniel Whitman scored 31.7 and ranked 196.5. Nick VanMeter scored 30 and ranked 239. The median score was 1 out of a possible 120.

Brenner re-appointed to AMS editorial board

Susanne C. Brenner has been re-appointed to the editorial board of the Notices of the American Mathematical Society. This is her third term.

Malisoff receives award at IEEE-CDC conference

Michael Malisoff, assistant professor in mathematics, participated in the 45th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control (IEEE-CDC), where he chaired one session, presented three original research papers, and received the award for the best presentation in the Stability session. The IEEE-CDC is the primary international conference in the field of control theory and includes several hundred paper presentations annually. Malisoff has 40 publications in the field.

Schlichting's result to appear in Annals

A K-theory vanishing result, which was previously a conjecture of Weibel, has been proved by Guillermo Cortinas, Christian Haesemeyer, Marco Schlichting, and Charles A. Weibel. The result will appear in the paper “Cyclic homology, cdh-cohomology and negative K-theory” in the Annals of Mathematics.