Front Page News

Susanna Dann Wins Postdoc at the University of Missouri

Congratulations to Susanna Dann (soon-to-be LSU PhD, advisor Prof. Olafsson), who has accepted a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Missouri-Columbia. Her advisor there will be Prof. Alexander Koldobsky.

Susanne Brenner is the 2011 Sonia Kovalevsky Lecturer

Dr. Susanne Brenner, the Michael F. and Roberta Nesbit McDonald Professor of Mathematics at LSU, has been selected to give the 2011 Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture.

Girja Tripathi Wins Postdoc at the Tata Institute

Congratulations to Girja Tripathi (LSU PhD Dec. 2010, advisor Prof. Schlichting), who has accepted a postdoctoral fellowship at the Tata Institute, Mumbai.

LSU Students Win Louisiana-Mississippi MAA Team Competition

Three LSU math majors, Philip Benge, Guillaume Dupré, and Hannah Manuel, won the first-place prize in the Student Team Mathematics Competition on February 25. The competition is a regional mathematics contest for college students in Louisiana and Mississippi, sponsored by the Louisiana-Mississippi section of the Mathematical Association of America. The LSU team dominated the competition, scoring 131 of 150 points possible. The second-place team only scored 109 points. Congratulations to Philip, Guillaume, and Hannah!

Graduate Wins Postdoc at Tufts

Congratulations to Jens Christensen (LSU PhD 2009, advisor Prof. Olafsson). After two years at the University of Maryland, Jens has accepted a 3-year postdoctoral position at Tufts University.

LSU Visiting Researcher Wins Sloan Fellowship

Aaron Lauda, a visiting researcher in the Math Department for the Spring semester 2011, has  won a 2011 Sloan Research Fellowship. Awarded annually since 1955, these two year fellowships are given to 118 early-career scientists and scholars in science, mathematics, economics and computer science, in recognition of achievement and the potential to contribute substantially to their fields.

Patricio Jara (LSU Ph.D. 2008) Receives NSF Research Grant

Patricio Jara (LSU, Ph.D. 2008, adviser Prof. Frank Neubrander) received a three year research grant from the National Science Foundation's Division of Mathematical Sciences (Award #1008101) for his research on the “Numerical Inversion of the Laplace Transform and its Applications to Evolution Equations”. Congratulations Patricio!

Mihály Kovács (LSU, Ph.D. 2004) Receives New Zealand Mathematical Society's Award

Mihály (Misi) Kovács (LSU, PhD. 2004, adviser Prof. Frank Neubrander) is this year's sole recipient of the New Zealand Mathematical Society's “Early Career Award for Mathematical Research”. Misi's citation for the prize reads “for his innovative research in the field of stochastic partial differential equations, particularly their numerical approximation”. Congratulations Misi!

Andrew Barker Wins 2010 George Pólya Award for Mathematical Exposition from MAA

Congratulations to Andrew Barker, a VIGRE postdoctoral associate in the Department of Mathematics and the Center for Computation and Technology, who was awarded the 2010 George Pólya Award for mathematical exposition from the MAA. The George Pólya Award, established in 1976, is named after the renowned teacher and writer, and is given for articles of expository excellence published in The College Mathematics Journal.