Front Page News

Graduate wins Postdoctoral Fellowship at Weierstrass Institute

Santiago Fortes, who received his PhD from LSU in 2010 under the supervision of Robert Lipton and Stephen Shipman, has been awarded a Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Weierstrass Institute in Berlin, Germany.  This will be Santiago's second postdoctoral position, following on the one he is completing at the California Institute of Technology.

Fiction award for Carolyn Chun (LSU PhD 2009)

Carolyn Chun who received her PhD in mathematics in 2009 under the advise of Prof. James Oxley was awarded the 2012 Kenneth Patchen Award for her MFA thesis: "How to break article noun". The award includes a publishing contract.

Hui-Hsiung Kuo receives Fulbright scholarship

Professor Hui-Hsiung Kuo was awarded a Fulbright scholarship for research and lecturing in Tunisia from April to June 2012.

Ambar Sengupta awarded Mercator Guest Professorship

Professor Ambar Sengupta was awarded a Mercator Guest Professorship at the University of Bonn by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), the national science foundation of Germany.

Jasson Vindas (LSU PhD 2009) publishes first book

Jasson Vindas who received his PhD in 2009 from LSU (Advisor: Prof. Ricardo Estrada) along with two coauthors published his first book "Asymptotic behavior of generalized functions".

Yaniv Almog receives international grant

The United States - Israel Binational Science Foundation has awarded Professor Yaniv Almog and a team of international researchers a grant for a four year project "On some Ginzburg-Landau type functionals". His co-investigators are Prof. Itai Shafrir Itai (Technion, Haifa, Israel),
Prof. Leonid Berlyand (Penn. State University) and Prof. Dmitry Golovaty (University of Akron).

Aleksandra Gruszka is best paper finalist at American Control Conference

Aleksandra Gruszka, a PhD student of Professor Michael Malisoff, was one of five students selected as finalists for the Student Best Paper Award at the 2011 American Control Conference-ACC 2011, held in San Francisco, June 29 - July 1, 2011. For more information about this award, see the ACC-2011 website. An extended version of this paper has already been accepted for publication in the journal International Journal of Robust and Nonlinear Control.

Spring 2011 Awards

LSU Awards and Recognitions

  • Professor Gestur Olafsson has been appointed Julian R. & Sidney Nicolle Carruth Endowed Alumni Professor.
  • Professor Scott Baldridge received the Tiger Athletic Foundation President’s Award.
  • Professor Robert Lipton won the LSU Distinguished Faculty Award.
  • Dottie Vaughn won the Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching
    Award (Science).
  • Julia Ledet won the Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award
    (University College).
  • Myron Minn-Thu-Aye received the LSU Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award.

College of Science Awards

  • Hannah Manuel received the College of Science Outstanding Junior Award.
  • Jacob Richard Desmond received the College of Science Outstanding Sophomore Award.
  • Breanna Hughes received the College of Science Tiger Athletic Foundation Scholarship.
  • Jordan Keller received the College of Science Burland Scholarship.
  • Christian Bankester received the College of Science Dean's Award.

Departmental Awards

  • Kyle Istvan received the Porcelli Award for Graduate Academic Excellence.
  • Trevor McGuire won the David Oxley Graduate Student Teaching Award.
  • Stephanie Stanley received the Margaret Oxley Math Education Award.
  • Philip Benge received the Robert and Betti Giles Senior Math Award.
  • Hannah Manuel received the Porcelli Senior Scholarship.
  • Andrew Elias received the Porcelli Junior Scholarship.
  • Kevin Hale won the Math Department’s Geaux Teach Award.
  • Stan Dziobiak, Dennis Hall, Perry Iverson, Benedykt Szozda, and Lisa Warshauer received Certificates of Teaching Excellence.

Congratulations to all!

LSU Math Department Sponsors Conference in Tunisia

LSU Mathematics Department is a sponsor of the International Conference on Stochastic Analysis and Applications, Oct 10–15, 2011, in Hammamet, Tunisia.

Andrew Williamson Scores in the Top 3% in Putnam Competition

LSU undergraduate math major Andrew Williamson was ranked at the 97th percentile on the recent William Lowell Putmam Mathematics Contest for undergraduate math majors. With a score of 56 out of 120 he was ranked 128th out of 4296.