LSU College of Science

Front Page News

Spring 2007 Awards

LSU Awards

LSU Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award
Julius Esunge
TIAA-CREF Service Learning Fellow Award
Robert Perlis
Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award
Dottie Vaughn

Departmental Awards

Pasquale Porcelli Award for Graduate Academic Excellence
Anna Zemlyanova
Betti and Robert Giles Senior Math Award
Daniel Whitman
Pasquale Porcelli Senior Undergraduate Scholarship
Brittan Farmer
Pasquale Porcelli Junior Undergraduate Scholarship
Rodrigo Farnham
David Oxley Memorial Graduate Student Teaching Award
Tanya Lueder
Certificate of Teaching Excellence
Jens Christensen
Fareed Hawwa
Piotr Maciak
Lisa Warshauer
Departmental Service Award
Jimmie Lawson

LSU Leader in Math Education

The New Math: LSU becomes National Leader in Math Education

Redesign Workshop, April 12, 2007

The LSU Department of Mathematics has spent more than three years developing a new approach to teaching college algebra and has since become a national leader in the field of using technology to redesign the delivery of large-enrollment college mathematics courses. This new approach uses a combination of small classroom instruction and a learning lab environment.

LSU team 21st in Putnam Competition

Congratulations to our Putnam team (Jude Melancon, Nickolas VanMeter and Daniel Whitman), and thanks to the Putnam coach (Professor Jacek Cygan), and to Suat Namli (who gave seminars on problem solving prior to the Putnam Exam). This year the LSU team finished 21st! There were 402 colleges and universities that entered teams. A total of 3640 students from 508 colleges and universities participated in the competition. Daniel Whitman scored 31.7 and ranked 196.5. Nick VanMeter scored 30 and ranked 239. The median score was 1 out of a possible 120.

Brenner re-appointed to AMS editorial board

Susanne C. Brenner has been re-appointed to the editorial board of the Notices of the American Mathematical Society. This is her third term.

Malisoff receives award at IEEE-CDC conference

Michael Malisoff, assistant professor in mathematics, participated in the 45th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control (IEEE-CDC), where he chaired one session, presented three original research papers, and received the award for the best presentation in the Stability session. The IEEE-CDC is the primary international conference in the field of control theory and includes several hundred paper presentations annually. Malisoff has 40 publications in the field.

Schlichting's result to appear in Annals

A K-theory vanishing result, which was previously a conjecture of Weibel, has been proved by Guillermo Cortinas, Christian Haesemeyer, Marco Schlichting, and Charles A. Weibel. The result will appear in the paper “Cyclic homology, cdh-cohomology and negative K-theory” in the Annals of Mathematics.

Anderson inducted into the Icosahedron Society

Dick Anderson, Boyd Professor Emeritus and 39th president of the Mathematical Association of America, was inducted into the Icosahedron Society at the Silver and Gold Banquet during this year's MathFest. The complete story is in the November issue of the MAA Focus Magazine.

Quantum Connections at the Shaw Center

An art exhibit “Quantum Connections” of a local artist Marion Drenner is on display at the Shaw Center for the Arts in downtown Baton Rouge until January 27, 2007. On January 5, from 6:00 to 8:00 pm, the gallery will host a Questions and Answers session with LSU Mathematics Professor James Madden.

Postdoctoral Associate, Horst Beyer's New Book

"Beyond partial differential equations: A course on linear and quasi-linear abstract hyperbolic evolution equations" by Horst Beyer will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Mathematics series.

MAA "Mathematics Magazine" Louisiana origins given on JSTOR

"Mathematics Magazine" is one of the journals of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Its predecessor "National Mathematics Magazine" was published at LSU in Baton Rouge. JSTOR incorrectly gives the publisher of "National Mathematics Magazine" as the MAA but now gives an explanatory note.