Front Page News

New Faculty: Stefan van Zwam

Starting Fall 2014 Stefan van Zwam joins the math department as an Assistant Professor. He received his PhD in 2009 from Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands. From 2009-2011 he was Postdoctoral researcher at the CWI Amsterdam, Netherlands, before becoming Assistant Professor at the Department of Mathematics at Princeton University. 

Stefan van Zwam's research interests lie in matroid theory.

Winnie Sloan (Math Senior) receives Actuarial Foundation scholarship

Winnie Sloan received a 2014 Curtis E. Huntington Memorial Scholarship from the Actuarial Foundation.  Winnie is a senior mathematics and music major in the Mathematics Actuarial Science concentration.  The scholarship recipients are determined by national competition among full-time college seniors interested in pursuing a career as an actuary.

Milen Yakimov's paper published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

The article Quantum cluster algebras and quantum nilpotent algebras by Professor Milen Yakimov and his collaborator Kenneth Goodearl (University of California, Santa Barbara) was published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Matthew Dawson appointed Post-Doctoral Fellow at Centro de Investigacion en Matematicas

Congratulations to Matthew Dawson (soon-to-be LSU PhD, advisor Prof. Olafsson), who has been appointed as a Post-doctoral Fellow at Centro de Investigación en Matemáticas (CIMAT) at Guanajuato, Mexico.

Math Faculty honored at College of Science Convocation

At the 2014 Choppin Honors Convocation the LSU College of Science awarded TAF Undergraduate Teaching Awards to Stephanie Kurtz and Dottie Vaughn

Gestur Olafsson was awarded the Graduate Teaching Award, and Hongchao Zhang received the College of Science Research Award.

Math Major among Tiger Twelve

LSU math major and honors student Morgan Matchett has been selected by LSU as one of the 2014 "Tiger Twelve".  This award is given every year by the Dean of Students Office to twelve LSU undergraduate students who "have exemplified the seven basic principles outlined in the LSU Commitment to Community".  300 students were nominated, and the application process includes both a written packet as well as interviews with a panel.

Martin Forrest and Ambar Sengupta receive 2014 University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award

Martin Forrest and Ambar Sengupta received a University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award at the 2014 Spring Awards reception of the LSU University College.

Conference on Ordered Algebraic Structures at LSU, May 1-3, 2014

LSU will host a conference on ordered algebraic structures, May 1-3, 2014. Cick here.