Front Page News

LSU Honors College News features Math Major Bruno Beltran

The LSU Honors College News featured Math Major Bruno Beltran who graduated this May. He is the recipient of a 2013 Goldwater Fellowship, and a 2015 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship that will be supporting his PhD graduate studies in Systems Biology at Stanford University. His Honors Thesis under Professor Frank Neubrander was on Matrix Exponentiation without Scaling and Squaring.

International Conference on Harmonic Analysis and Applications

Alex Iosevich, Azita Mayeli and Gestur Olafsson are organizing an International Conference on Harmonic Analysis and Applications in New York City from June 1-5, 2015. The conference is supported by the National Science Foundation. 

LSU Awards for Ambar Sengupta and Stephen Shipman

Ambar Sengupta has received a 2015 LSU Distinguished Faculty Award, and Stephen Shipman has received a 2015 LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award.

BIRS workshop on modular categories in Oaxaca, Mexico

Richard Ng, Dmitri Nikshych, Eric Rowell and Zhenghan Wang are organizing a Conference on Modular Categories -- Their Representations, Classification, and Applications in Oaxaca, Mexico. The conference is sponsored by the Banff International Research Station.

Six Math Majors among 43 University Medalists

Six Math Majors were among the 43 Spring 2015 University Medalists. The University Medal is awarded to graduating LSU seniors with a perfect 4.0 GPA:

First Math Saturday: Girls in Mathematics

Masters of the Mathematics Common Core: Girls in Mathematics: Knotty Math
Pallavi Dani talks about knots at the first Math Saturday

LSU Math majors enter top PhD programs

2015 Star Graduating Seniors
From left to right: Bruno Beltran (Stanford), Jason Mueller (Bristol), Rachael Keller (Columbia), Paxton Turner (MIT), and Avery St. Dizier (Cornell).

2015 LSU Math graduating seniors will be entering some of the top PhD and Masters programs:

Math Faculty and Students honored at the 2015 LSU College of Science Convocation

At the 2015 LSU College of Science Convocation the following Math Faculty and Students were honored: