Front Page News

2014 Goldwater Scholarships for Brandon Oubre and Paxton Turner

Brandon Oubre (Double major: Computer Science and Mathematics) and Paxton Turner (Mathematics) were two of about 280 recipients of the 2014 Goldwater Scholarships. Rachael Keller (Mathematics) was recognized with an Honorable Mentions.

Peter Lambert-Cole appointed Post-doctoral Fellow at Indiana University

Congratulations to Peter Lambert-Cole (soon-to-be LSU PhD, advisor Prof. Baldridge), who has been appointed as a Post-doctoral Fellow at Indiana University

LSU hosts MAA meeting

LSU is hosting the annual meeting of the Louisiana-Mississippi section of the MAA this year. The meeting will be held March 7-8 in the Cook Conference Center. The Plenary Session speaker is MAA President-Elect Francis Edward Su of Harvey Mudd College, who will speak on "Combinatorial Fixed Point Theorems". The R.D. Anderson Lecture will be given by Prof. Jesus De Loera of UC-Davis, who will speak on "100 Years of Helly's Theorem".

Michael Neilan receives Sloan Research Fellowship

Michael Neilan, who was an NSF-postdoc at LSU under Professor Susanne C. Brenner from 2009-2011, received a 2014 Sloan Research Fellowship. Michael Neilan is currently assistant professor in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Pittsburgh.

Jasson Vindas (LSU PhD 2009) receives Costa Rica Science Prize

Jasson Vindas who received his PhD in 2009 under Professor Ricardo Estrada was awarded the Costa Rica Science Prize "Clodomiro Picado T." of 2013. He is currently Assistant Professor at Ghent University, Belgium.

It is only the second time that a mathematician received this prize; Ricardo Estrada was the winner in 1996.

Guillermo Ferreyra receives BASF Professor of Excellence Award

Professor Guillermo Ferreyra received the BASF Professor of Excellence Award. He was recognized during the LSU-Texas A&M Football game.

Guillermo Ferreyra was chairman of the Department of Mathematics from 2000 to 2003, dean of the LSU College of Arts & Science from 2004 to 2009, and currently serves as the interim dean of the LSU College of Science.

Irina Holmes appointed Jack Hale Post-doctoral Fellow at Georgia Tech

Congratulations to Irina Holmes (soon-to-be LSU PhD, advisor Prof. Sengupta), who has been appointed as a Jack Hale Post-doctoral Fellow at Georgia Tech.

LSU hosts Number Theory Conference

The conference "Applications of Automorphic Forms in Number Theory and Combinatorics" in honor of Professor Wen-Ching Winnie Li (Penn State) will take place at LSU April 12-15, 2014.

Speakers include Jean-Pierre Serre (Fields Medal 1954, Wolf Prize 2000, Abel Prize in 2003) and John Tate (Wolf Prize 2002/03, Abel Prize 2010).

LSU hosts SCALA 2014

The LSU Center for Computation and Technology (CCT) and Tulane University's Center for Computational Science (CCS) will co-sponsor SCALA 2014 - Scientific Computing Around Louisiana at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, February 21-22, 2014

Robert Lipton elected Fellow of the AAAS

Professor Robert Lipton was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He is being recognized "for contributions to the theory of multiscale simulation, modeling, and the physics of media with microstructure." Professor Lipton is one of only seven new fellows that were elected in the AAAS Section on Mathematics.