Front Page News

Laura Rider awarded NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship

Congratulations to Laura Rider (soon-to-be LSU PhD, advisor Prof. Achar), who has been awarded an NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship to be used at MIT.

Michael Malisoff named Roy Paul Daniels Professor

Professor Michael Malisoff was named Roy Paul Daniels Professor of Mathematics. He received his PhD in 2000 and came to LSU in 2001. Michael Malisoff contributed more than 70 publications to control theory and its applications. His first book Constructions of Strict Lyapunov Functions appeared in 2009 (Springer).

James Oxley named Boyd Professor

Professor James Oxley on Dec. 7 was awarded the rank of Boyd Professor by the LSU Board of Supervisors.

Fall 2012 Awards

Fall 2012 Award Recipients
From left: Myron Minn-Thu-Aye, Laura Rider, Joel Geiger, Timothy Shatley, Jesse Taylor, Jake Blanton, Jacob Matherne, and Irina Holmes

Departmental Fall 2012 Awards

  • Laura Rider received Pasquale Porcelli Award for Graduate Research Excellence.
  • Yi Zhang received Pasquale Porcelli Certificate of Research Excellence.
  • Jacob Blanton and Jesse Taylor received David Oxley Graduate Student Teaching Award.
  • Joel Geiger, Irina Holmes, Jacob Matherne, Myron Minn-Thu-Aye, and Timothy Shatley received Certificates of Teaching Excellence.
  • Professor Jacek Cygan was recognized for his 31.5 years of distinguished service to the department upon his retirement.

Congratulations to all!

Susanne Brenner elected Fellow of the AAAS

In October 2012 Professor Susanne C. Brenner was elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). She is being recognized for "advances in finite element, multigrid and domain decomposition methods, and for service to the computational and applied mathematics community". Professor Brenner is one of only seven new fellows that were elected in the AAAS Section of Mathematics.

Four LSU faculty members named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society

Four LSU faculty members were recognized as inaugural Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

Jeremy Tillay, math major, wins first prize in LSU Undergraduate Research Conference

Math major Jeremy Tillay received the first prize in the Level 1 Math and Physical Science category of the LSU Undergraduate Research Conference on Friday, Oct. 26, 2012.

Workshop on Lie Groups, Lie Algebras and their Representations at LSU

A workshop on Lie Groups, Lie Algebras and their Representations will take place at LSU on October 6 and 7, 2012. The workshop is organized by Profs. Olafsson and Yakimov.

Math graduates are heading to graduate programs

Jordan Keller, Hannah Manuel and Alex Leder are three of the May 2012 graduates in math that are heading to graduate programs this Fall. All three received one of the 42 University Medals awarded for graduating with the highest undergraduate grade-point averages. 

LSU wins MAA math competition

The LSU math department sent two teams of students to compete in the “Student Team Competition” held at the meeting of the La-Miss section of the MAA on Friday, March 2, 2012. There were 21 teams from a wide variety of schools in Louisiana and Mississippi at the competition. The LSU teams won first place (\$100) and third place (\$50) with scores of 124 and 108, respectively.

The first-place team consisted of Christine Derbins, Jordan Keller, Jeremy Tillay and Paxton Turner. The third-place team consisted of Jacob Desmond, Andrew Elias, Jesse Lu and Andrew Stewart.