LSU College of Science

Front Page News

Perlis Appointed Alumni Professor

Robert Perlis has been appointed the Cecil "Pete" Taylor Alumni Professor.

Kopcso Received Distinguished Teacher Award

Debra Kopcso received the George H. Deer Distinguished Teacher Award.

Spring 2006 Undergraduate Awards

The 2006 Betti and Robert Giles Senior Math Award goes to Edgar A. Mollere.

5th Math Contest

Saturday, March 18, LSU Math Department hosted 5th Math Contest for High School Students.

Workshop for Academia and Industry

The materials science group will be hosting the Louisiana Joint Workshop for Academia and Industry, March 30-31 2006, at Hill Memorial Library.

AMS 2008 meeting at LSU

LSU will host a spring 2008 meeting of the American Mathematical Society. It will be held March 28-30, 2008.

Saylor professorship

LSU Visiting Professor Paul Saylor has Illinois professorship established in his honor.

Olafsson's editorial appointment

Professor Gestur Olafsson has been appointed to the editorial board of the Journal of Lie Theory.

2005 Awards

The following major awards and named professorships were given to the departmental personnel in 2005: