Front Page News

Spring 2012 Awards

Spring 2012 Award Recipients
From left, top: Jake Blanton, Katie Stelly, Christine Derbins, Stephanie Kurtz, Breanne Hughes, Rebecca Landry; bottom: Perry Iverson, Aleksandr Smirnov, Austin Scirratt, Jacob Desmond, and Jordan Keller

NDSEG fellowship for Hannah Manuel

Hannah Manuel, LSU Math major, received a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) fellowship. The fellowship is sponsored and funded by the Department of Defense. On average less than 15 fellowships are awarded in Mathematics annually. Hannah Manuel plans to take the fellowship at the School of Mathematics at Georgia Tech.

Hannah Manuel came to LSU in 2008 on the Chancellor's Future Leaders in Research program. She was mentored by Professor Dasbach. 



Conference in memory of Jürgen Hurrelbrink at Banach Center

In memory of Prof. Jürgen Hurrelbrink (1944-2009) a conference on Algebraic K-theory and Arithmetic will take place from July 22 to July 28, 2012 at the Banach Center in Będlewo, Poland.

Postdoctoral positions for graduate students Yue Chen, Maria Vega and Amber Russell

Yue Chen, Maria Vega and Amber Russell accepted Postdoctoral positions starting in the Fall of 2012.

Yue Chen, who will receive his PhD in the Summer of 2012 under the direction of Professor Robert Lipton, will be a 3-year Postdoctoral Scholar in the Math Department of the University of Kentucky.

Maria Vega, who received her PhD under Dan Sage in December of 2011, will be a 3-year Postdoc at North Carolina State University.

Amber Russell, who will receive her PhD in the Summer of 2012 under Pramod Achar, will be a 3-year Postdoc at the University of Georgia. 

ALEKS is here

Please see our ALEKS page.

Michael Malisoff's research featured in the news

The Baton Rouge Advocate took note of current research of Professor Michael Malisoff. His work is in systems and control theory with applications to engineering. In 2010, he teamed up with the Georgia Tech Savannah Robotics Team led by Georgia Tech professor Fumin Zhang and marine scientist Mark Patterson from the Virginia Institute of Marine Science at the College of William and Mary to develop methods for using marine robots to conduct surveys off the coast of Louisiana.

Ambar Sengupta named Hubert Butts Professor

Professor Ambar Sengupta was named Hubert Butts Professor of Mathematics. He received his PhD in 1990 and came to LSU in 1991. Ambar Sengupta contributed more than 50 publications to both Mathematical Physics and Financial Mathematics. His first book Pricing Derivatives appeared in 2005 (McGraw-Hill) and recently Representing Finite Groups: A Semisimple Introduction at the end of 2011 (Springer).

Milen Yakimov to deliver invited address at AMS Sectional Meeting

Professor Milen Yakimov has been invited to deliver a plenary address at the Sectional Meeting of the American Mathematical Society at Tulane University, New Orleans, October 13-14, 2012.

Article of Sam Nelson (LSU PhD 2002) featured in the "Notices of the AMS"

The article "The Combinatorial Revolution in Knot Theory" by Sam Nelson was featured in the Notices of the American Mathematical Society in the December 2011 issue. Sam Nelson received his PhD from LSU in 2002 under Professor Rick Litherland. He is currently Assistant Professor at the Claremont McKenna College, CA.