Grad News


Please direct inquiries about our graduate program to:

Editors' Choice Award for Dylan Douthitt and James Oxley

Editor's Choice Award

The article Bounding the number of bases of a matroid by Dylan Douthitt, LSU Math Graduate Student, and James Oxley, LSU Boyd Professor, has been included in the Editors’ Choice 2022 list of outstanding papers over the last three years in the research journal Discrete Mathematics.

2021 David Oxley Graduate Student Teaching Award

James Dylan Douthitt James Dylan Douthitt received the Fall 2021 LSU David Oxley Graduate Student Teaching Award. The award is named in memory of David Grieve Oxley, the son of James and Judith Oxley. The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in teaching by graduate students. It is given each semester. In the Fall, those eligible are senior graduate students, those who have been in the Mathematics graduate program for more than two years.

P. Sundar and Christian Ennis to Collaborate with Barbara Rüdiger at Wuppertal University.

P. Sundar and Christian Ennis LSU Department of Mathematics Professor P. Sundar and graduate student Christian Ennis are working on a collaborative research project with graduate students and postdoctoral researchers from the Bergische Universität Wuppertal in Wuppertal, Germany starting from the Spring of 2022 with research visits arranged at LSU and Wuppertal University.

2021 Porcelli Awards

Sudipta Ghosh receives the 2021 Pasquale Porcelli Graduate Student Research Excellence Award.

2021 Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarships

2021 Barton Scholarships

Prerna Agarwal, Pujan Shrestha and Jagdeep Singh are awarded the 2021 Arthur K. Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarships, and Sudip Sinha is the recipient of the 2021 A. K. and Shirley Barton Superior Graduate Student Scholarship.

Postdoc Positions for 2021 Ph.D. Graduates

2021 PhD's The 2021 LSU Math Ph.D. graduates accepted the following postdoctoral positions:

Kent Vashaw Accepts NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship at MIT for Fall 2021

Kent Vashaw LSU Mathematics graduate student Kent Vashaw has accepted a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship, which places him at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Fall 2021. He will be mentored by Dr. Pavel Etingof in the MIT Department of Mathematics, performing research in representation theory.

LSU Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award for Joseph Grenier

Joseph Grenier Joseph Grenier is the recipient of the 2019 Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award.

This award recognizes outstanding teaching ability and service to students.

Myron Minn-Thu-Aye (Ph.D. 2013) featured in UConn Magazine

Myron Minn-Thu-Aye Myron Minn-Thu-Aye (Ph.D. 2013; Advisor: Professor Pramod Achar) is featured in the current issue of UConn Magazine of the University of Connecticut:

SIAM Student Chapter Recognition for Jerome Weston

Jerome Weston Jerome Weston received a 2018 SIAM Student Chapter Certificate of Recognition. It is awarded annually by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics to the member who had the greatest contribution to the chapter in the previous year(s).  Jerome Weston will complete his Ph.D. this August under the tutelage of Professor Michael Malisoff.

LSU has a very active SIAM chapter that is mentored by Professor Susanne C. Brenner.